April 29, 2017

The Odds Of You And Me by Cecilia Galante

Published Date : January 31, 2017
Publisher : William Morrow Paperbacks
Genre : Fiction / Women's

LINKS

Website / Goodreads / Twitter / Instagram

WHERE TO BUY

Amazon / B&N / Google Play









ABOUT THE BOOK!

In the vein of Meg Donohue and Sarah Jio, Cecilia Galante’s second novel delivers the powerful story of one young woman who’s faced with an impossible choice—one that could have her making the biggest mistake of her life.

Thirteen days. That’s all Bernadette, “Bird,” Sincavage has left to go until she’s done with her probation and can be free again. Free from making payments to the supermarket she wrote bad checks to. Free from living at home with her overzealous mother who’s constantly nagging her about attending church again. Free to give her four-year-old son, Angus, the normal life he deserves. Her impending freedom and move to Moon Lake, where she’s plunked down a deposit on a brand new apartment, is so close she can almost taste it. What trouble could she possibly get into in just 13 days?

But trouble does follow in the form of James Rittenhouse—someone she worked with a few years ago. At first, Bird is stunned to see James make the evening news when he’s arrested for assaulting someone in a local bar. But that’s nothing compared to the shock she gets when she discovers James hiding out in an abandoned church choir loft. Somehow he escaped police custody, broke his leg, and got his hand on a gun, which he’s now pointing at her.

Although Bird doesn’t tell anyone she saw James, there’s no way she’s helping him. She can’t screw up her probation or her second chance for a new future. And she has her son’s welfare to think about. Still. If only she could stop thinking about the terrified look in James’ eyes and the fact that he’s hurt. If only she could forget that once, long ago, James helped her out, and she owes him a debt like no other. 

Will Bird jeopardize her future for someone who helped her out in the past? A past that holds secrets she’s not quite sure she’s ready to face? Or will she turn a blind eye and learn to live with the consequences?

ABOUT THE AUTHOR!


Cecilia writes for adults, teenagers, middle-school kids, and very young readers. The Invisibles, her first novel for adults, which was recently published by Harper Collins, has been called “gripping and heart-rending” by USA Today best-selling author Meg Donohue. A second adult novel is forthcoming in Winter, 2017.

Cecilia’s first young adult novel, The Patron Saint of Butterflies, which was loosely based on her own experience growing up in a commune, received national recognition, and was the recipient of numerous awards, including the NAIBA Best Book of the Year Award, a Book Sense Pick, an Oprah’s Book Club Teen Reading Selection, a Golden Sower Award Nominee, a Banks Children Book of the Year Selection, and a Grand Canyon Reader Award Nominee.

Other young adult novels include The Sweetness of Salt and Be Not Afraid

Middle grade novels include WillowoodHershey Herself, and The Summer of May as well as the forthcoming The World From Up Here, to be released in the summer of 2016.

Children's books include a 5-book chapter book series titled Little Wings, which has recently been translated into Turkish and Japanese.

Cecilia, who also teaches eighth-grade English at Wyoming Seminary Preparatory School and is on the creative writing faculty at Wilkes University, lives in Kingston, Pennsylvania.

No comments:

Post a Comment